The Journey For Change Experience by: Benjamin McCullough

I am a junior at Capital Prep Harbor in Bridgeport, CT. I would describe myself as an innovative leader who wants to leave a lifelong impressions for change, specifically in minority cities. My favorite subject is math and I will pursue a career as a Financial Manager because I love dealing with finances and numbers. I believe the recurring theme of systematic racism, I and many others, have endured growing up needs and must be changed. While my future career is important to me, I also owe it to myself and my community to help try to change it. In order for this to happen I must start with my own community of Bridgeport first.

Benjamin Mccullough

July 14, 2017

Today we started with SDG (Sustainable Development Goal) 1 which is “No Poverty.” Upon our arrival to Diepsloot, an informal settlement in South Africa, you could immediately observe that this community was impoverished. Residents were living on top of one another and children were walking around without shoes. What the three households we visited had in common was that they did not have electricity, running water, and there was no food. This was an eye opener for me because so many people lived in a one room shack and live on less income in a month than the cost of utilities back home. I thought to myself how ethically and morally wrong it is that these people do not have access to basic human necessities that sustains life.  I also reflected about the fact that I can at times take electricity, food, and water for granted. But the most inspirational and uplifting thing I noticed today is that these families and the community as a whole do not let their situation define who they are. We can learn a lot from the glory that these people experience despite their everyday struggles. Today was a humbling experience and I look forward to going back.

 

Benjamin McCullough

July 15, 2017

Today was an inspirational and love-filled day. Our focus today was on SDG #2 and #3, which is “No Hunger” and “Good Health and Well-Being.”  We visited a local day care in Diepsloot that has gone about a week without electricity. Our group purchased food to prepare lunch as they could not cook a hot meal.  We bought cold cuts, cheese and bread for sandwiches me as well as fruit, juice boxes, and chips.  We prepared the lunch for the children we served them the food,  We also played with them and read books to the children during the rest of our time there. When it came time to leave, the kids were crying and did not want us to go because we simply took time out of our day to show that we actually cared about them.

 

Author: journeyforchangesite

Journey for Change 4 is collaborating with Steve Perry's Capital Prep school in an exciting global service program. Students from 6th grade to 11th have traveled from New York to South Africa for the experience of a lifetime. While the kids get to take leadership courses and enjoy the country sites, they also are doing volunteer work within the impoverished area of Diepsloot.

One thought on “The Journey For Change Experience by: Benjamin McCullough”

  1. This is awesome. My son Tremayne Garrett is in attendance. I am truly thankful for him earning this opportunity. I am so proud of him. Please update the paragraph above to state that some of the students including my son are from Bridgeport, CT.

    Thank you to all the awesome teachers, Ms. Cassile and her team of illuminators for taking care of our children. Thank you also to Dr. Perry and Malak Compton-Rock for deciding to pull this project together For our children to experience.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment